My voice – a slam poem (11. april 2017)

I have been different since the day I can remember
and even since the days I don´t.
I put together a rainbow from the colorful dices
on the first day of kindergarden
which amazed all of the teachers in the room.
I always liked things nice and tidy
but yet I liked adventure.
I rarely played with dolls
but climbed all of the trees in our garden.
My early days of school finally gave me friendships
which slowly faded away as time went by.
I learned to like the world of silence
with not so many friends,
observig everything around which moved
and stayed in place.
I felt like I didn´t belong anytime I went there
and if you simply came up to me
I would not say a word
because I would not know how,
even if I tried,
the words would start choking in my neck and I would gasp
leaving me as quiet as before.
The only time I could make a sound
was through the words of others.
I performed dozens of poems,
all written by marvelous poets
and I didn´t feel so invisible anymore.
And when I found that those words
could also become my own,
an ocean of them became just flowing out of my hand.
I hide behind metaphores
because i find them more magnificent
and though I have many more words to discover,
I know I found my voice.
I can shout, I can scream, I can whisper and I can speak.
And I know for sure that even if my body starts to shake,
my mouth starts to mumble,
if I speak from my very last breath
and I collapse to the ground,
I know my words didn´t just fill the silence
but gave a voice to someone too.
Rumi Text

Leave a comment