Why do we POST so much on INSTAGRAM?

Don’t you guys think that some of the stuff we post or even other people post is pointless or unnecessary? I do. My brother always tells me I spam my stories. Yes, sometimes I do. But other do, too.

I want to take pictures because I genuinely like to capture moments but why do I need to post them on Instagram for others to see? I don’t. I just do because honetsly deep down, I have this insecurity that people think I am boring and I need to prove with every story that “hey, my life is interesting. I do cool stuff.” It is bad and if one good thing comes out of this quarantine is that I want to stop doing that. I am still going to take pictures of everything mostly because I like looking back at those moments but sharing them is not needed. I used to think that Instagram is like this memory diary for me and me creating thsi picture of my life and in a way expressing who I am. I mean, yes it is, but there is a line of doing it for me or doing it because of Instagram, others, because it is normal.

I kinda stopped posting so much. At least I try. First of all, people are not that interested and second of all, I don’t need to announce to people all the things I do and who I do them with. Plus, I hang out a lot with my friends and if I posted every time I hung out with them, it would just be stories every day. Honestly, even now I post a lot. And that is just a couple of times a week. maybe 2 or 3. It is a weird thing if we are being honest. The whole concept. I know people who don’t post any stories at all or barely any. Right now, I post some of the cool memories and adventures I take but of we are having a sleepover or something I don’t have the need to post it. But I still really like isnatgram. I like pictures and some of the pictures are really worth sharing. However, I want to keep more things private for sure.

What I Learned From [Temporarily] Deleting Social Media

I think a lot of people feel like they have to post on Instagram in order to prove something. Maybe prove that they ahve a great life, great relationship, great friends. Or for self confidence and ego. Or sow that they have some material things that are considered to be cool. It is just strange. The whole concept of instagram stories – how we show to other people what we are doing and stalk what other are doing. Everyone wants to do the same things and fit in, be part of this community. What is the point really ? Well, my point is tbh that YOU OF ALL PEOPLE SHOULD BE HAPPY WITH YOUR LIFE AND ACTUALLY ENJOY THOSE MOMENTS YOU ARE POSTING because other people liking what you do is not going to make you happy. You need to do that for yourself.

Leave a comment